Quilt Pattern – Continuing On ….

quilt design 11june2015Quilt Pattern – a counted needlework design by Loretta Spears

Almost all of my stitching time for the past couple of weeks has been spent with Quilt Pattern.  The piece was a class project from 1986 (ish) that was designed and taught by Loretta Spears at her shop.  As far as I know, it was never published.  Instruction sheets were never supplied — all of the instruction is in my hand on paper, written as directed by Loretta.  I sort of doubt she ever finished her piece.

The design is line drawn on 18 count tan canvas and uses 8 different colors of floss from DMC – 518, 519, 951, 918, 919, 920, 921 and 922.  The finished size will be 9 3/8 inches by 13 1/8 inches.

The border in progress is diagonal mosic using all eight colors.  Turning the corners was a little challenging.  With my first attempt I tried stitching the pattern by starting the pattern over in the corner and I wish I had taken a photo because it looked awful.  I ripped it out re-stitched using a twist but couldn’t figure out a how to change color and direction.  I ended up using graph paper and crayons to try a couple of ideas and this is what I hope will be the final design.

This entry was posted in Loretta Spears, needlepoint and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment