How Often is Linen Really Evenweave??

Why am I leading with that question?  I just finished another of the EEF Scissor Companion kits.  Cute right??….sparrow scissor companionThis great piece came as a kit that included chart, floss, buttons, 32 count linen and scissors.  I started stitching as directed with one strand of floss over two but ripped it out to stitch 2 over 2.   The design size is 50 by 50.  Doesn’t look square, right?  It isn’t.

After the stitching was completed I was (once again) surprised that the linen was not even.  For this project, not a big deal.  But…. it could be a very big deal depending on your project.

This linen is actually 32 count vertically and 30 horizontally.  If I was working a large project and I expected the linen to be 32 count it is likely that the project might not fit….  Another reason to have at least 3 inches all around.

No question … I will be checking the count of every linen fabric in both directions before I begin a new project.

This entry was posted in cross stitch, Ewe and Eye and Friends and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

