“My First Quilt” Complete

my first quilt complete 3nov2014Yippee!  This is my latest finish — “My First Quilt”.

I freely admit that while I was working on this quilt I thought it was horrid.  I could not imagine what I was thinking by buying this kit.  Now that it is complete … I think it is wonderful.my first quilt back 3nov2014This photo shows a close up of the quilt and backing.  The backing is a Moda marble stars and the binding is from Benartex.  I quilted using a hanging diamonds pattern spaced 3″ apart in both directions.  The batting is Hobbs Heirloom Cotton/Poly blend, as I was preparing to quilt, I was wishing I had bought Warm & Natural so that I could quilt further apart…. next time.

I have become a mark as you go quilter, I only mark one or two lines before sewing and moving on to the next line.  I find that if I mark too far ahead, I end up having to re-do the lines to make it visible at the machine.  I used both a hera marker and white pencil to make lines visible but easy to remove.  The quilting was done on my Elna using a stitch length of 3.0 and Signature cotton thread in Parchment.  My binding is always attached by machine but hand sewn to the back.

Just to clarify — “My First Quilt” is only the name of the pattern.

This entry was posted in quilting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to “My First Quilt” Complete

  1. I’m doing a grid on a small quilt now and am using painter’s tape to draw my lines. Once I’ve sewn the length, I just move the tape. The quilt is very pretty. I like the 9-patch centers for the log cabin blocks.

    • janicelynn says:

      I need to try that on a small quilt. I tried it once on a large quilt when I pretty new to quilting and it it didn’t go so well. Maybe I used masking tape and it should be painters tape?? Would love to see pics!

      • I am using painter’s tape, so it’s easy to move. And it’s a small quilt, 35″ square. That helps, for sure. I have a long-arm and quilt almost everything there. But this one seemed to call for a diagonal grid, which is very hard to do on the frame. So far so good, but we’ll see!

Leave a Reply

