Shabby Chic Quilt Top

This morning I finished putting the borders on the Shabby Chic quilt top.  I have a tendency to get carried away with the size of my quilt tops – probably a throw back to my long-arm days.

This pretty top was designed to be a throw finishing 42″ X 60″ without a border or 52″ x 70″ with a border.  It just seemed too small so I decided to add another fabric to the main design to make it longer … then it seemed to need another border.  The finished top is about 56″ X 80″.  Good thing I have some extra border fabric because I’m not certain that my backing will be big enough!

It will be a couple of weeks before I get to the quilting but I will probably do vertical lines about 1 1/2″ apart.  This time I am thinking that I will try using painters tape for marking the quilt.

This entry was posted in quilting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Shabby Chic Quilt Top

  1. Quilting is one of the few “handy” things I have never tried. Not that I don’t gasp with awe at some quilts I see, and in a previous life my ex-husband and I had a beautiful quilt on our bed from Biggie Best, but I think it’s the size of the thing that I find a bit daunting. How on earth do you machine stitch these things???

  2. janicelynn says:

    my quilting is super simple … straight lines and gentle curves that can be done with a walking foot. i have a machine with the longer head (bigger throat space) so there are a few more inches for getting the fabric through.

Leave a Reply

